Kick-Off to 2011 Season Brings Early Success




SAN JUAN CAPISTRANO, Calif., March 8, 2011 – Robert Davis Racing (RDR) kicked off the 2011 National Auto Sport Association (NASA) racing season with a strong start. Under sunny skies and unseasonably warm weather at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, Calif., RDR brought out two RX-8s, one Mazda2 and five Miatas, and took home its customary share of wins.

With Scott Shelton, RDR PTD team driver and 2010 national champion, running the Playboy Mazda MX-5 Cup series as part of his MAZDASPEED Motorsports Development ladder prize, it fell to Lee Papageorge to fill Shelton’s big shoes, and he did just that with class wins on both Saturday and Sunday.  Dennis Holloway did the same in the PTC class, as well as coming home as overall group winner in Performance Touring.  In PTF, Jeremy Barnes brought the Mazda2 that MAZDASPEED Motorsports and Mazda North American Operations debuted at the 25 Hours of Thunderhill to wins on both Saturday and Sunday, as Mazda, Honda and other manufacturers continue to fine-tune the B-Spec rule set.

Miata action saw Randy Miller start the season on the wrong foot, as a broken steering component during Friday testing sent Miller’s PTE-class Miata into the trackside wall, damaging the car sufficiently that it did not run any further.   Mike Allen brought home the Showroom Spec Miata win on Sunday, and Ken Saward recorded strong fourth place finishes in Spec Miata on both days. 

Driver:                                 Class:                    Saturday Race:                 Sunday Race:

Dennis Holloway               PTC                                      1st                                         1st

Lee Papageorge                PTD                                      1st                                         1st

Jeremy Barnes                   PTF                                       1st                                         1st

Randy Miller                      PTE                                      DNS                                     DNS
Ken Saward                        SM                                       4
th                                        4th

Jeff Jeppesen                     SM                                       10th                                      9th                                                      
Mark Stenzel                      SM                                       12
th                                      13th       
Mike Allen                          SSM                                     2
nd                                        1st          

Next Up:  Buttonwillow, April 9 and 10.  Watch for updates and schedules at

RDR appreciates the support of Mother’s Polishes and Waxes, Whelen Engineering, Magnaflow, ARCO fuels, Castrol, SAFERACER, Hoosier Racing Tires, MAZDASPEED Motorsports Development, Motul, AIM Sports, Racing Hart, Nippon Paint, Racing Beat, SpeedSource, Hawk Brakes, AWR, Classy Car Auto Detailing, Sparco, Pure Power,  Star Shield Armor, Petrol Eyewear, PIAA, and EMI.